Lagos bye-elections: Low voter turnout as Hamzat, Gbadamosi, Dabiri-Erewa vote


Voting commenced peacefully on Saturday in the Lagos East Senatorial and Kosofe Constituency 2 bye-

elections amidst low voter turnout in the affected five local government areas of the state.


The Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Obafemi Hamzat has cast his vote in the ongoing Lagos-East bye-


He cast his ballot at Ward 4 Unit 002 at Oke-Balogun Central Mosque, Epe around 10 am.


After voting, he commended the peaceful conduct of voters at his unit.


The deputy governor appealed that such peaceful conduct should be replicated in other areas.


The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party in the Lagos East Senatorial bye-election, Babatunde


Gbadamosi, voted around 10.50 am at polling unit 14, Isele ward 1, Ikorodu.

He complained about the low voter turnout, saying that the Independent National Electoral Commission

ALSO READ  Eight dead, 17 injured in Ogun and Akwa Ibom Road Accidents, FRSC blames over speeding and others

failed to properly educate voters.


Gbadamosi said the process has been peaceful so far.


Our correspondent gathered that the card reader failed at Polling Unit 009 Agbala village in Ikorodu Local

Government Area.

Also, the Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerians in Diaspora Commission, Abike Dabiri-Erewa, cast her vote

about 11:40 am at ward 51 Ayangburen, Isele Ward 1 Unit 12 Ayangburin Street, Ikorodu, Lagos.


Some voters said that election officials and materials arrived late at many wards in Kosofe Local

Government Area.


NAN reports that INEC officials reported on duty and voting commenced at about 8:30 a.m in most polling

units across Lagos East Senatorial District comprising Somolu, Ikorodu, Epe, and Ibeju-Lekki Local

Government Areas.




Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More